Live monitor for TMG server

While I am not a professional program developer, I am pretty happy with a result and I think for quick perception it is good enough. I used Microsoft charts for visual effects. The chart shows amount of data in specific time frame.

Axis X show last 60 minutes: 0 is now and on the right side is minutes before now.

For those who would like to try it – the download is here: https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=3ABC7781CDA8856D!212&authkey=!AMaq9y_HfKZpj1M

I just need to add few words how to install it.

First, you need configure your TMG server logging. You can refer to Microsoft article: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd441052.aspx.

Below is a screenshot from my server:

ScreenHunter_18 Feb. 07 09.40

Please, leave substrings “FWS” for firewall log and “WEB” for web proxy log in the databases names. My code is using different field names depending on those substrings.

When downloaded files extracted on the server where you planning to install it (it could be any server, not necessary your TMG server, it could be even your desktop with IIS), you need to create new virtual directory and convert it to Application:

ScreenHunter_18 Jan. 31 15.42

Please, note – the files compiled to use .NET 4.

When you open application in your browser you need provide your connection details:

ScreenHunter_18 Jan. 31 15.57You have two options to connect to your SQL server:

You can leave user name and password fields blank. Your Windows credentials will be used.

Or you can enter user name and password for SQL authentication, which have to be configured on your SQL.

If your database located on TMG server itself – you have to create Allow rule to enable connection from your LAN to local SQL server.

I guess IT guys will be able to configure it without step by step instructions.

Right now I am not planning to spend more time to continue to develop this application but if any serious bugs will be found I will fix it.

And I will be happy to hear if you found it useful.

P.S. While I promised to myself do not make any updates, I added summary Pie Charts:

piechartThe charts shows top 10 computers downloading and uploading data through TMG server.

Yesterday I just read that Microsoft discontinue TMG server. I liked ISA and TMG, but will need to find good alternative.

This entry was posted in Development and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment